A Little Light and A Little Green

I’m finding that if I’m given the choice to sit in front of my sewing machine or in front of the computer… I choose the sewing machine! So this little blog has suffered a minor abandonment before it barely got started.

I have been busy. Mostly with the Mystery Quilt. There will be more on that later.

My sewing area…which from here on out will be referred to as my  Sewing Studio because it sounds much more upscale than My Basement Happy Place …only has one little window sunk in a window well and only fosters sunlight in the earliest hours of the day while I’m still asleep… assuming the sun decides to shine here in the PNW. That leaves the other twenty-two hours of the day in need of another light source.

My sewing machine has a built-in light… sort of. Even though it’s an LED light these old eyes of mine need more help. So I’m always looking for the tips and tricks of others. And I found one I thought sounded pretty nifty…

I took a trip to Home Depot and found a basic headlamp flashlight by Energizer. (Mr.P, didn’t have the vision, and looked at me like I was crazy. I think he thought I was going to actually wear the headlamp.) I couldn’t wait to try out my plan.

This is my sewing machine with just the machine light…

NtF light tip

This is my sewing machine with some headlamp action…

NTF light tip 2

This makes my eyes happy!!!

In the last two weeks most of my time in The Studio has been dedicated to the Mystery Quilt. But everyone needs a break now and again so I shoved the fall colors to the side and dug out some greens…

This little four leaf table runner was a fun break and should be finished by next Friday. If you are interested, it is a Fons and Porter, Quilting Quickly pattern and the tutorial can be found here.

Luck O' the Irish table runner

 Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

…and Happy Stitching!

Sewing Needle with Red Thread

Leave a Reply

